From perspectives on energy issues to energy efficiency tips, read the latest news from Minnesota's electric cooperatives.

Though Minnesota Valley Electric Cooperative’s 83rd Annual Meeting was postponed to a date yet to be determined, but the election for board directors in two districts went ahead as scheduled. Results certified by independent election vendor Survey & Ballots Systems have been announced by MVEC attorney Paul Johnson. A total of 2,985 votes (all by mail) were cast. This is 11.77% of 25,509 eligible MVEC voters in the two districts that had races.

All three incumbents were returned to the Board of Directors for three-year terms.

Incumbent Brent Lawrence of Credit River Township was re-elected with 665 votes. Challenger Barbara Marschall of Prior Lake received 369 votes. Lawrence received 64.3% of the 1,034 votes cast in District I, which covers portions of Prior Lake, Savage, Burnsville, Credit River and Elko-New Market.

Incumbent Michelle Morrison of Belle Plaine ran unopposed in District II, which covers portions of Carver, Hennepin, Sibley and Scott counties. Under the bylaws, her term continues until the rescheduled Annual Meeting is held. At that meeting, a voice vote will be taken to affirm her re-election.

Incumbent Fran Barten of New Prague was re-elected with 1,551 votes. Challenger Therese (Terri) Gulstad of Prior Lake received 396 votes. Barten received 79.7% of the 1,947 votes cast in District III, which covers portions of Scott, LeSueur, Rice, Blue Earth and Waseca counties.

The co-op’s 2020 scholarship recipients, listed below, have been announced. Fifteen $1,000 scholarships, funded by MVEC’s unclaimed capital credits, were awarded to area high school seniors. MVEC’s wholesale power provider, Basin Electric Power Cooperative of Bismarck, also awarded a $1,000 scholarship.

District 1High School
Carson MeurerShakopee
Hunter NiesonPrior Lake
Katie StruzykBurnsville
Mark FriedgesNew Prague
Parker LongPrior Lake
District 2High School
Benjamin FinkHoly Family
Caden BruzekJordan
Charles TeschLe Sueur-Henderson
Mary MonsonHome schooled
Theodore KakacekChanhassen
District 3High School
Alexis WondraCleveland
Ariana KrautkremerTri City United
Dylan AndroliWaterville-Elysian-Morristown
Mackenzie CloseSouthwest Christian
Mitchell CallahanNew Prague
BasinHigh School
Rachel HendersonJordan

Learn more about MVEC’s Board of Directors and scholarships at